Haibun Monday – Twinkle, twinkle!

 

In my childhood days, summer nights were spent under open star-lit sky. After completing my homework, I used to lie down on the cot laid down on the terrace and gazed at the stars and was fascinated by the forms the stars formed. In early days, I was ignorant of the constellations or asteroids but tried to search the patterns, the stars formed in the sky and the twinkling stars stole my heart. I used to be mesmerized by the view and would gaze at the triangles, squares, rectangles or tails the star patterned. The star studded sky and the cool moonlight refreshed my mind and alleviated the mood. The ignorance made it more wonderful and the innocent gazed at the sky for hours until the sleep arrived and then I was carried inside the house.

The star studded sky

Appeared like infinite diamonds

Scattered around.

© Ila Varma 07-09-2016

Written for the post of dVerse Haibun Monday – Twinkle, twinkle.

Image Credits: here

This is my first trial for Haibun, if I have made mistakes, do correct me.

16 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m a bit of a haibun newbie, but this looks pretty great to me! Lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ila Varma says:

      Thanks Sarah, u have forgotten to vote, ur vote counts.

      Like

  2. lynn__ says:

    You followed the haibun form well and I especially like your haiku!
    I’m wondering if you meant “elevated the mood” instead of “alleviated”?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ila Varma says:

      Thanks a lot. here alleviated means comforted or soothed.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sumana Roy says:

    So beautiful…love this innocence & wonderment at infinity….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ila Varma says:

      Thanks Sumana, do vote the post.

      Like

  4. Anita Lubesh says:

    Nice first try and a lovel recount of childhood memories.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think I have very early memories of the sky as well but more the moon than the stars.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ila Varma says:

      I used to trace the designs among the stars even I traced a bear, I forgot to mention in my writings

      Like

  6. Nostalgic. It reminded me of my childhood days. Lovely haibun.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Arohii says:

    So Fascinating and as Purba said above, it brings Nostalgia.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Arohii says:

        welcome Ila 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

