Weird with weirdness

The childish acts

Made me look weird

But

I was deriving joy

With the toddlers near.

When

They stroke a blow high

Figuring a sixer

I jumped higher

Catching the ball

In my hold

Declaring them a bold.

 

They swarmed around me

Buzzing

Accusing me

Of cheating them

When

They couldn’t make a score.

I wasn’t fooling them

Only

I was taller than

These tiny tots

My bigger figure

Caught it in the air

And

They couldn’t compete

They were small kids.

I knew very well

But

I derived happiness

Watching

In amusement

The small innocent faces

Making

Typical curves & pouts

And

It took me

Into the memories of the past

When

We too were chased

By the elders of family

Who rejoiced

When we lost the innings

Today

I was repeating the same act

Been weird with weirdness.

© Ila Varma March 2016

Midweek Motif ~ Weird

Image Credits

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve seen those faces. Wonderful poem!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ila Varma says:

      Thanks for the like

      Like

  2. Sherry Marr says:

    I can picture the pouts and frowns!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ila Varma says:

      Thanks for the like

      Like

Leave a Reply

